Top 5 series I want to read this year

Top 5 Tuesday is a meme created by Shanah @Bionicbookwormblog

Each week she comes up with an interesting topic to discuss about so join the fun please!

This week’s topic: series I want to read this year.

What’s a series?

Do you consider it more than a trilogy or something more than a standalone? Well to me a series is opposed to standalone so everything can fall under this term as long as it has more than one book.

I read standalone AND series.

Usually I try to wait for the series to be complete before reading it as I don’t like to be frustrated BUT there are some exceptions and I usually end biting my nails regretting my lack of patience.

 

Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat

All my friends keep recommending this series to me so I hope I’ll get some time to read it in 2017.

Synopsis

From global phenomenon C. S. Pacat comes the first in her critically acclaimed trilogy—with a bonus story.

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos. But when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave.

Beautiful, manipulative, and deadly, his new master, Prince Laurent, epitomizes the worst of the court at Vere. But in the lethal political web of the Veretian court, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen finds himself caught up in a play for the throne, he must work together with Laurent to survive and save his country.

For Damen, there is just one rule: never, ever reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else…

Includes an exclusive extra story!

 

The New Camelot Trilogy by Sierra Simone

Again here my friends really want to push this series down my throat so maybe I’ll give it a go LOL

Synopsis

It starts with a stolen kiss under an English sky, and it ends with a walk down the aisle. It starts with the President sending his best friend to woo me on his behalf, and it ends with my heart split in two. It starts with buried secrets and dangerous desires…and ends with the three of us bound together with a hateful love sharper than any barbed wire.

My name is Greer Galloway, and I serve at the pleasure of the President of the United States.

This is the story of an American Queen.

 

Secondborn by Amy A Bartol

I am cheating a little here as I’ve already begun this series as in I read the first book begin of 2017 and I just finished the ARC of the second book today but I want to shout READ IT!!!! So it will be some free promotion today but I reall, really, really… love this series. I’m also hugely frustrated as I now have to wait 2019 for Rebel Born!

Synopsis

Firstborns rule society. Secondborns are the property of the government. Thirdborns are not tolerated. Long live the Fates Republic.

On Transition Day, the second child in every family is taken by the government and forced into servitude. Roselle St. Sismode’s eighteenth birthday arrives with harsh realizations: she’s to become a soldier for the Fate of Swords military arm of the Republic during the bloodiest rebellion in history, and her elite firstborn mother is happy to see her go.

Televised since her early childhood, Roselle’s privileged upbringing has earned her the resentment of her secondborn peers. Now her decision to spare an enemy on the battlefield marks her as a traitor to the state.

But Roselle finds an ally—and more—in fellow secondborn conscript Hawthorne Trugrave. As the consequences of her actions ripple throughout the Fates Republic, can Roselle create a destiny of her own? Or will her Fate override everything she fights for—even love?

 

Winternight Trilogy by Katherine Arden

The first book got so many praises that I want in the fun now!

Synopsis

NATIONAL BESTSELLER – A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman’s myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind–she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

After Vasilisa’s mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa’s new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.

And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa’s stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.

As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed–this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales.

 

The Illuminae Files by Anie Kaufman and Jay Kristofer

I don’t have a real  reason except that this book is everywhere and I want in too. Curious, curious….

Synopsis

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

BRIEFING NOTE: Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 

Now what are the chances that I’ll really get to read these series? Dim, very dim or I have to stop working and just read. My reading schedule is already full till end April! Crazy? Yes I know but it’s the best kind of crazy 😉

I guess we’ll have to wait for the end of 2018 to see what I’ve read.

 

What are your top 5 series that you want to read this year?

 

Thanks for reading and happy Tuesday!

 

Sophie

 

 

 

Please follow and like us:
63

22 Replies to “Top 5 series I want to read this year”

  1. Winternight Trilogy and The Illuminae Files are also some that I totally need to read. I only read the first book in the Illuminae Files series and was pretty entertained by it. Hope you enjoy these this year, Sophie! 😀

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Thank you Lashaan! I hope you’ll get the time and the opportunity to read them too 😉 xx

  2. OMG, I can’t wait for you to read The Captive Prince trilogy and Illuminae files! They’re my favorite series! I loved the The Bear and the Nightingale and I’m looking forward to the girl in the tower. I haven’t read the camelot series but it really sounds interesting! 🙂

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      I know I’m late to the party raven that’s why I put these on my list 😉

  3. Sophie, you HAVE to read Captive Prince. Seriously. It’s probably the best romance trilogy I’ve ever read – AND it’s fantasy! It’s a MUST.

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      I KNOW Wendy LOL It’s partially thanks to you that I want to read it you know ? <3

  4. oooohhh, “illuminae” is soooo good!! 🙂

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Hahaha Alex that’s what everyone is saying LOL

  5. Fabulous list! Illuminae and Winternight trilogy are on my TBR. I hope you get to these books soon. 🙂

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Me too Aditi thank you <3

  6. Good luck with getting to them all. I am very curious about The Bear and the Nightingale!

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Thank you Annemieke 😉

  7. Oh my goodness…I’ve been so busy I haven’t even really had a chance to research what’s due out this year!! Great list Sophie!

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Thank you Trisy! I hope everything is well for you <3

  8. The Winternight Trilogy is also on my list! It just looks too good to pass up 🙂

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Yes I know Alyssa!!!

  9. fantastic list! As you know, I totally approve of the Illuminae Files! LOVE THAT SERIES SO MUCH!!!!
    Thanks for participating as always 🙂

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      You are welcome Shanah as always and yes I knew you would approve of the Illuminae 😉

  10. The New Camelot series looks awesome! I’ve put it on my tbr! And Illuminae was great, you’ll love it! I need to read the second book still, before the last comes out 😀 Great choices!

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      Yes and the New Camelot is hot too LOL Thank you 😉

  11. You definitely need to dive into the Winternight trilogy and the Illuminae series Sophie! They’re definitely two of my favs. I hadn’t heard of The New Camelot series, but you have me intrigued.

    1. BewareOfTheReader says: Reply

      I know Kim! If only days could have 48 hours with just 8 hours work, 8 hours sleep and the remaining hours to read LOL

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.